Menu

Automotive

MATERIALS SAFETY FOR THE AUTOMOTIVE INDUSTRY

 

FOCUSING ON THE CHARACTERISTICS OF MATERIALS USED IN COMPONENTS

What sort of condition is a material in; how does it behave; how resilient is it?

Highly experienced materials specialists analyze and validate the quality of materials and components used in series production. Working on behalf of OEMs and their suppliers, they investigate a hugely diverse range of situations in which materials and components are subject to stress.

Employing appropriate environmental simulation techniques, specialists from a variety of disciplines assess the quality of the material or of the surface finish, or they evaluate mechanical properties, the quality of the joining technology, joinability, fatigue behavior and corrosion resistance.

Independent assessment and advice of the highest standard is essential if automotive products are to be used safely in series production.

 

more ...

Suisse TP offers:

  • extensive analyses of materials
  • procedures based on numerous standards and also on customer's special requirements
  • independent assessments of the quality of a particular material
  • approval of materials for series production use and their process suitability
  • mechanical component testing to simulate real-life conditions
  • rapid testing and consultancy services for failure analyses and queries relating to specific materials

MATERIAL & SUPPLIER QUALIFICATION

Because one material isn't the same as another

When it's a matter of consistently robust long-term behavior and compliance with all the relevant requirements and parameters, it's the quality of the materials and components used which is of vital importance. Data calculated by an independent institution can provide information about component safety behavior and can ensure that the materials selected will not result in high series production reject ratios – thus providing stability for the entire production line.

more ...

To prevent failure, all components need to be comprehensively assessed – not just as regards the complex conditions they will have to withstand when used in series production but also with reference to their processability during manufacture. The very latest procedures are employed when materials are tested for compliance with various requirements. Procedures for testing the weldability of aluminum materials followed by a metallurgical assessment or an evaluation of the forming behavior of sheet metal in accordance with the directives of the automotive industry's standardization committees (IDDRG). These are just two examples of a thorough evaluation of materials for use in large-scale production runs. 

The relevant material characteristics are determined expertly and rapidly.

The characteristics of individual elements can be compared with the corresponding specifications; their suitability for use in series production processes or the reason for series production failures can be clearly determined. Producers will be given unbiased and reliable recommendations for qualifying individual materials and components.


COMPONENT TESTING

Safety for function and design – right from the start

From an early stage in its development, every single component must undergo a comprehensive test phase so as to highlight essential safety aspects and to guarantee its subsequent functional reliability. Sophisticated test rigs and appropriate static and dynamic simulated loads are used to check and carefully evaluate under realistic conditions both the design of the various individual components and the ways they will be used.

It is important that each of the test procedures used is able to answer the customer's specific questions. Have real-life conditions been simulated sufficiently accurately? What test rig features will have a direct effect on the results? Whether it's the introduction of pneumatically or hydraulically synchronized forces, selective rigidity due to the components' mounts or failure assessment – each and every component and process will be comprehensively and carefully checked. Component testing is accompanied by wide-ranging analyses. The mechanical materials tests are complemented by state-of-the-art metallurgical, chemical and physical analyses. This facilitates a full and thorough quality evaluation that can provide highly reliable data to confirm component functionality and design.

extensive technical details




MATERIALOGRAPHY – METALLOGRAPHY

Key features can't hide from the SEM

Precise material characterization will determine a material's specific composition and microstructure. Samples are painstakingly checked using scanning electron microscopy, light microscopy and various chemical analysis methods.

Which is the most suitable material for a particular product? Does the structure of a raw material, semi-finished product or component comply with the standard? Does it deviate from the norms? Material characterization delivers the decisive basic facts. Physical and chemical measurements are taken of the surfaces and cross-sections of materials; these measurements determine the material's parameters – as required by companies for a specific manufacturing process. Failure analysis highlights the full extent of the problem to not only identify the cause of the failure but also to suggest possible ways of rectifying it.


DETERMINING MATERIAL DATA

You can count on us

Plasticity, creep characteristics under temperature, corrosion behavior, flow patterns – to see how a material will behave, a variety of characteristics, anisotropy or solidification can all be determined. By using mathematical material models of appropriate simulations, for example, the data from experimental methods can also help us make predictions about the behavior of complex deformation processes.

Depending on the task and what is required of the material, producing the challenging material data models demands a high degree of professional expertise and a comprehensive set of empirical values. This is the only way for suitable material tests to be defined and adequate test schedules to be drawn up.




AUTOMOTIVE CONTACT


Günter Bergmann

Günter Bergmann is the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and a member of the Board of Directors. He studied mechanical engineering at Stuttgart University, focusing mainly on automotive engineering and on the science of the strength of materials. Working for many years in various international automotive industry companies has given him a wealth of invaluable experience of the sector. Bergmann is responsible for ensuring that a wide range of product innovations are successfully developed and introduced into series production.

automotive@suisse-tp.ch +41 52 551 1122

Menu

Automotive

Materialsicherheit für die Automobilindustrie

 

Materialeigenschaften von Bauteilen im Fokus

In welchem Zustand ist ein Werkstoff, wie verhält er sich, wie belastbar ist er?

Erfahrene Materialexperten analysieren und validieren die Qualität der verwendeten Materialien und Komponenten für den Serieneinsatz. Die Untersuchungen werden im Auftrag der OEMs oder ihrer Lieferanten für die verschiedensten Belastungssituationen durchgeführt.

Spezialisten aus den verschiedenen Fachrichtungen beurteilen z.B. die Werkstoff- und Oberflächenqualität, die mechanischen Eigenschaften, die Qualität der Fügetechnik, das Ermüdungsverhalten oder auch die Korrosionsbeständigkeit durch gezielte Umweltsimulationen. Sie erhalten von uns eine unabhängige Beurteilung und Beratung auf höchstem Qualitätsniveau für den sicheren Einsatz ihrer Produkte in der Serie.

Suisse TP bietet:

mehr ...
      • umfangreiche Analysen von Werkstoffen
      • Verfahren auf Basis zahlreicher Normen aber auch nach speziellen Kundenanforderungen
      • unabhängige Beurteilungen der jeweiligen Werkstoffqualität
      • Serienfreigabe von Werkstoffen und deren Prozesstauglichkeit
      • mechanische Bauteilprüfungen zur Simulation realer Bedingungen
      • schnelle Prüf- und Beratungsprozesse bei Schadensanalysen und werkstoffspezifischen Fragestellungen

Werkstoff- & Lieferantenqualifizierung

Weil Material nicht gleich Material ist

In Hinblick auf ein robustes Langzeitverhalten und die Einhaltung aller relevanten Anforderungen bzw. Rahmenbedingungen ist die Qualität der eingesetzten Werkstoffe und Bauteile von essentieller Bedeutung. Die von einem unabhängigen Institut ermittelten Daten geben Auskunft über das Sicherheitsverhalten der Komponenten, gewährleisten im Auswahlprozess die Vermeidung hoher Ausschussraten innerhalb einer Serienproduktion – und sichern damit die Stabilität der ganzen Linie.

 

mehr ...

Um Schadensfälle zu vermeiden, müssen alle Bauteile umfassend beurteilt werden – nicht nur im Hinblick auf die komplexen Randbedingungen im Serieneinsatz, sondern auch bezüglich ihrer Prozesstauglichkeit bei der Herstellung. Die verschiedenen Anforderungen an die Werkstoffe werden mit Hilfe modernster Verfahren ausgetestet. So sind Prüfverfahren zur Schweißeignung von Aluminiumwerkstoffen und eine anschließende metallurgische Beurteilung oder die Bewertung des Umformverhaltens von Blechen nach den Vorgaben der Normungsausschüsse der Automobilindustrie (IDDRG) nur zwei Beispiele einer gründlichen Werkstoffbeurteilung für die Großserie. 

Die relevanten Werkstoffeigenschaften werden fachmännisch und schnell ermittelt.

Die Kennwerte von Einzelelementen können mit den entsprechenden Spezifikationen verglichen, die Prozessserientauglichkeit oder die Ursache von Schäden in der Serie klar ermittelt werden. Produzenten erhalten neutrale und zuverlässige Empfehlungen für die Qualifizierung einzelner Materialien und Bauteile.


Bauteilprüfung

Sicherheit für Funktion und Design – von Beginn an

Bereits in einem frühen Entwicklungsstadium muss jedes einzelne Bauteil eine umfassende Testphase durchlaufen, damit massgebliche Sicherheitsaspekte beleuchtet werden können und die spätere Funktionstüchtigkeit des Elements gewährleistet ist. Aufbau und Einsatz der verschiedenen Einzelkomponenten werden mit Hilfe komplexer Versuchsaufbauten und passender statischer wie dynamischer Ersatzlasten unter realitätsnahen Bedingungen überprüft und sorgfältig bewertet.

Es ist wichtig, die einzelnen Prüfverfahren mit den individuellen Fragestellungen des Kunden abzustimmen: Wird die Realität ausreichend genau abgebildet? Welche Faktoren innerhalb des Versuchsaufbaus beeinflussen die Ergebnisse unmittelbar? Ob pneumatisch oder hydraulisch synchronisierte Krafteinleitungen, gezielte Steifigkeiten durch Bauteillagerung oder die Schadensbeurteilung – alle Bauteile und Prozesse werden gleichermaßen umfassend wie sorgsam überprüft. Die Analysen, die die Bauteilprüfung begleiten, sind vielfältig. Moderne metallurgische, chemische sowie physikalische Analysen ergänzen die mechanische Werkstoffprüfung. Das ermöglicht eine tiefgehende und umfassende Qualitätsbeurteilung, die eine hohe Aussagekraft zur Absicherung von Funktion und Design der Bauteile hat

ausführliche technische Details




facility

Materialographie - Metallographie

Das Wesentliche bleibt für das REM nicht unsichtbar

Eine präzise Werkstoffcharakterisierung ermittelt die spezifische Zusammensetzung und Mikrostruktur eines Werkstoffs. Mit Hilfe der Raster-Elektronenmikroskopie, der Lichtmikroskopie und verschiedener chemischer Analyseverfahren werden die Proben genau überprüft.

Welches Material ist für ein Produkt am besten geeignet? Entspricht die Struktur eines Rohmaterials, Halbzeugs oder Bauteils der Norm? Gibt es Abweichungen? Die Werkstoffcharakterisierung schafft die entscheidenden Grundlagen: An Schnitten und Oberflächen von Werkstoffen werden physikalische und chemische Messungen vorgenommen, über die sich die Werkstoffparameter ermitteln lassen, die Unternehmen für einen spezifischen Herstellungsprozess benötigen. In einer Schadensfallanalyse wird die Gesamtheit der Problemstellung beleuchtet, um nicht nur die Ursache des Schadens zu finden, sondern auch mögliche Lösungen zur Behebung vorzuschlagen.


Werkstoffdatenermittlung

Rechnen Sie mit uns

Plastisches Verhalten, Zeitstandverhalten unter Temperatur, Korrosionsverhalten, Fließverhalten – für das jeweilige Verhalten eines Werkstoffs können verschiedene Kenndaten, die Anisotropie oder die Verfestigung, ermittelt werden. Die Daten aus den experimentellen Verfahren dienen außerdem dazu, über z.B. die mathematischen Werkstoffmodelle passender Simulationen Vorhersagen zum Verhalten komplexer Verformungen zu machen.

Das Erstellen der anspruchsvollen Werkstoffdatenmodelle erfordert je nach Aufgabenstellung und Anforderung an den Werkstoff eine hohe fachliche Kompetenz sowie umfassende Erfahrungswerte. Nur so können die geeigneten Werkstoffprüfungen definiert und entsprechende Versuchspläne adäquat erstellt werden.



dynamische Zugprobe

Ansprechpartner Automotive


Günter Bergmann

Günter Bergmann ist geschäftsführender Gesellschafter (CEO) und Mitglied des Verwaltungsrates. Er hat an der Universität Stuttgart Maschinenbau mit dem Schwerpunkt Festigkeitslehre und Fahrzeugtechnik studiert. Durch seine langjährige Tätigkeit in verschiedenen internationalen Konzernen der Automobilindustrie verfügt er über vielfältige und wertvolle Branchenerfahrungen. Der Maschinenbauingenieur ist verantwortlich für die erfolgreiche Entwicklung und Einführung verschiedener Produktinnovationen im Rahmen der Serienfertigung.

automotive@suisse-tp.ch +41 52 551 1122