Menu

Pharma

CHEMICAL ANALYSES – WITH EXPERTISE

 

CHEMICAL ANALYSES – WITH EXPERTISE

It's all to do with the chemical composition

Controlling quality by means of chemical analyses is a fundamental and integral element of the pharmaceutical industry. Inorganic element analysis examines samples for trace impurities and the proportions of elements in certain substances. Every investigation is proceeded by developing a method specifically tailored to the product. This demands a high level of expertise and extensive specialist knowledge of the different elements, sample types and disintegration techniques.

Many pharmaceutical companies engage external service providers to carry out their quality assurance. External service providers must, without fail, adhere to the international regulations applicable to manufacturers of medicines. Companies must have their products analyzed by laboratories which have been issued with the relevant GMP certificate by Swissmedic, the Swiss agency responsible for authorizing and monitoring therapeutic products. The accredited analysis service provider will carry out the complex pharmaceutical analysis investigations quickly and reliably. Chemists with many years' experience of the industry and working within a state-of-the-art laboratory infrastructure can provide pharmaceutical companies with the support they need – day by day, project by project.

more ...

Suisse TP offers:

  • independent services in the field of inorganic element analysis
  • ongoing support to individual research and development projects in the form of chemical analysis processes
  • support for the development, optimization and validation of methods
  • their experience gained over many years plus state-of-the-art analysis equipment and laboratories (accreditation to ISO 17025, GMP certification, FDA audited)
  • analysis of the 'Elemental Impurities' in accordance with the new ICH Q3D Directives and with USP <232> and USP <233>

QUALITY ASSURANCE

Routine analytics – Product safety – Product approval

Before receiving approval, every pharmaceutical product must be subjected to the closest examination to ensure that the manufacturing process conforms to the regulatory requirements. Wide-ranging and professionally conducted analysis procedures are required to provide quality assurance of the active pharmaceutical ingredients. Overview analyses and element screening of liquid and solid samples are examples of daily routine activity. The element content determined by these analyses is compared with the specified limits. Further analysis procedures will provide information about the active ingredient content of each product, or may identify any catalyst residues from earlier intermediate synthesis stages.

Rapid, flexible and comprehensive analysis procedures facilitate the high-quality, inexpensive processing of samples. In order to be able to analyze elements with low determination limits in a particular substance submitted for analysis, and also to ensure product safety, the laboratory uses the very latest equipment. It has the necessary certification, the accreditations and the essential knowledge in the field of trace element analysis.


DEVELOPMENT AND VALIDATION OF METHODOLOGIES

Ensuring robust analyses

Every sample is different; every product unique. This also applies to the methodology on which any analysis is based. When developing a methodology, the sample elements to be investigated and their specified limits must be taken into account in addition to the requirements laid down by the authorities. Specialists approach their task in a well-rehearsed and precise manner so as to develop a specific validation methodology for each product, thus ensuring that the data quality is soundly based.

ICH Q3D, the recently implemented medicines directive on limit values for elemental impurities in pharmaceutical industry products, now presents manufacturers of pharmaceutical products with a number of challenges. Companies must equip their laboratories in line with the new requirements in order to demonstrate to the authorities that the elemental impurities in their products are below the required limits. In addition, they have the option of submitting their samples to external analysis service providers, whose appropriately equipped laboratories will ensure that the relevant data is ascertained rapidly and in the correct manner. Suisse TP offers ongoing support to manufacturers of medicines in implementing the new requirements, so that nothing will stand in the way of future product approval.




DEVELOPMENT PROJECTS

Moving forward with product developments

Behind every product lies a complex development process. Numerous measurements are taken and many individual decisions made; each product is reviewed again and again. Specialist analysis service providers such as Suisse TP ensure that pharmaceutical companies can keep pace with a constantly changing market. The rapid working practices and the flexible, targeted processes employed by a skilled team ensure short throughput times and speedy approvals. Every sample is examined thoroughly so that subsequent work stages can be planned and carried out without delay.

The analysis support provided to each project is based on a combination of many years' experience and soundly-based procedures. This guarantees constant progress and reliable analyses.


Packaging

Optimizing products, calculating shelf life

The numerical simulation of product characteristics and of the processes involved in producing pharmaceutical packaging is an efficient way of reducing the time spent on costly testing and can even replace testing entirely. By calculating the shelf life of products (e.g. inhalers) or by optimizing forming or sealing processes, the development process can be speeded up and safety increased when the product is introduced to the market. Predicting moisture absorption (LOD, water kinetics) can significantly reduce the cost of stability testing.

Development is supported by physical and chemical analysis methods which can be used, for example, to describe material properties or to validate numerical simulations.

to the area Packaging

Downloads

PHARMACEUTICAL CONTACT


Patrik Bachmann

Patrik Bachmann is a qualified chemist. He completed his apprenticeship as a chemical laboratory technician at Alusuisse in Neuhausen am Rheinfall. He went on to study chemistry, specializing in analytical chemistry at the Zurich University of Applied Sciences in Winterthur. Between 2001 and 2006, he managed several development projects to do with the development of functional aluminum surfaces at Alcan and Novelis. From 2007, he worked in the field of chemical analytics, concentrating on the inorganic element analytics of pharmaceutical samples, and was engaged on analyses of a wide range of materials. Since 2011, Patrik Bachmann has been the team leader and specialist responsible for chemical analytics at Suisse TP.

pharma@suisse-tp.ch +41 52 551 1169

Menu

Pharma

Chemische Analysen mit Know-how

 

Chemische Analysen mit Know-how

Auf die Zusammensetzung kommt es an

Qualitätskontrollen durch chemische Analysen sind elementarer Bestandteil der pharmazeutischen Industrie. Die anorganische Elementanalytik untersucht Proben auf Spurenverunreinigungen und Elementanteile bestimmter Stoffe. Jeder Untersuchung geht eine produktspezifische Methodenentwicklung voraus. Das erfordert hohe Kompetenz und umfangreiches Fachwissen hinsichtlich der unterschiedlichen Elemente, Probenarten und Aufschlusstechniken.

Viele Pharmaunternehmen beauftragen für ihre Qualitätssicherung externe Dienstleister. Dabei sind die international gültigen Regulatorien für Arzneimittelhersteller zwingend einzuhalten: Die Unternehmen müssen ihre Produkte von Labors, denen die schweizerische Zulassungs- und Kontrollbehörde für Heilmittel, Swissmedic, das entsprechende GMP-Zertifikat ausgestellt hat, analysieren lassen. Der akkreditierte Analysedienstleister führt die komplexen Untersuchungen für die Pharmaanalytik schnell und zuverlässig durch. Chemiker mit langjähriger Industrieerfahrung, die mit einer modernen Laborinfrastruktur arbeiten, bieten Pharmaunternehmen die Unterstützung, die sie brauchen – Tag für Tag, Projekt für Projekt.  

Suisse TP bietet:

mehr ...
  • unabhängige Dienstleistungen im Bereich der anorganischen Elementanalytik
  • Begleitung von individuellen Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekten mit chemisch-analytischen Verfahrensweisen
  • Unterstützung bei der Entwicklung, Optimierung und Validierung von Methoden
  • langjährige Erfahrung, moderne Analysegeräte und Labors (Akkreditierung nach ISO 17025, GMP-Zertifizierung, FDA-geprüft)
  • Analyse der „Elemental Impurities“ gemäss der neuen Richtlinien ICH Q3D bzw. USP <232> und USP <233>

Qualitätssicherung

Routineanalytik - Produktsicherheit - Produktfreigabe

Jedes pharmazeutische Produkt muss vor seiner Freigabe genauestens untersucht werden, damit der Herstellungsprozess die gesetzlichen Anforderungen erfüllt. Zur Qualitätssicherung in der Produktion von Pharmawirkstoffen sind vielfältige und fachmännisch durchgeführte Analyseverfahren erforderlich. Zum Beispiel gehören Übersichtsanalysen und Elementscreenings in flüssigen und festen Proben zur täglichen Routine. Die hier ermittelten Elementgehalte werden mit den festgelegten Grenzwerten abgeglichen. Weitere Analyseverfahren geben Aufschluss über den jeweiligen Wirkstoffgehalt eines Erzeugnisses oder weisen eventuelle Katalysatorrückstände aus vorherigen Synthesezwischenschritten nach.

Schnelle, flexible und umfassende Analyseverfahren ermöglichen eine kostensparende und qualitativ hochwertige Bearbeitung von Proben. Um in einer vorliegenden Substanz Elemente mit tiefen Bestimmungsgrenzen analysieren zu können und die Produktsicherheit zu gewährleisten, verfügt das Labor über die neueste Gerätetechnik, die notwendigen Zertifizierungen und Akkreditierungen sowie das massgebliche Wissen im Bereich der Elementspurenanalytik.


Methodenentwicklung / -validierung

Sicherstellung robuster Analysen

Jede Probe ist individuell, jedes Produkt einzigartig. Das gilt auch für die Methode, die einer Analyse zugrunde liegt. In der Methodenentwicklung müssen neben den Anforderungen der Behörden die zu untersuchenden Probenelemente und ihre vorgeschriebenen Grenzwerte berücksichtigt werden. Fachkräfte gehen gleichsam routiniert wie präzise vor, um für jedes Produkt eine spezifische Methodenvalidierung zu entwickeln und somit eine sichere Basis für die jeweilige Datenqualität sicherzustellen.

ICH Q3D, die kürzlich implementierte Richtlinie für Arzneimittel zu Grenzwerten von Elementverunreinigungen in Produkten der Pharmaindustrie, stellt die Hersteller pharmazeutischer Produkte aktuell vor einige Herausforderungen. Die einzelnen Unternehmen müssen ihre Labors gemäss den neuen Anforderungen ausstatten, um gegenüber den Behörden nachzuweisen, dass die Elementverunreinigungen ihrer Produkte unterhalb der geforderten Grenzwerte liegen. Darüber hinaus haben sie aber auch die Möglichkeit, ihre Proben an externe Analysedienstleister weiterzugeben, die in ihren passend ausgestatteten Labors für eine schnelle und sachgemässe Ermittlung der relevanten Daten sorgen. Suisse TP unterstützt und begleitet Arzneimittelhersteller bei der Umsetzung der neuen Anforderungen – damit zukünftigen Produktfreigaben nichts im Wege steht.




Entwicklungsprojekte

Produktentwicklungen entscheidend voranbringen

Jedem Produkt liegt ein komplexer Entwicklungsprozess zugrunde: Zahlreiche Messungen werden vorgenommen, viele Einzelentscheidungen gefällt, die jeweiligen Erzeugnisse immer wieder überarbeitet. Spezialisierte Analysedienstleister wie Suisse TP gewährleisten, dass Pharmaunternehmen mit einem sich ständig wandelnden Markt mithalten können. Dabei sorgen die rasche Arbeitsweise sowie flexible und zielgerichtete Prozesse eines kompetenten Teams für kurze Durchlaufzeiten und schnelle Freigaben. Jede Probe wird eingehend überprüft, um dann unverzüglich die nächsten Arbeitsschritte planen und durchführen zu können.

Die analytische Begleitung der jeweiligen Projekte basiert auf der Kombination von langjähriger Erfahrung und strukturierter Vorgehensweise. Das garantiert konstante Fortschritte und eine sichere Analyse.


Packaging

Produkte optimieren, Lebensdauer berechnen

Die numerische Simulation von Produkteigenschaften und Prozessen pharmazeutischer Verpackungen ist eine effiziente Methode, um aufwändige Tests abzukürzen oder gar zu ersetzen. Durch die Lebensdauerberechnung der Produkte (z.B. Inhaler) oder die Optimierung von Umform- oder Siegelprozessen kann der Entwicklungsprozess beschleunigt und die Sicherheit bei der Markteinführung erhöht werden. Durch die Vorhersage der Feuchteaufnahme (LOD, Wasserkinetik) lassen sich die hohen Kosten von Stabilitätstests signifikant reduzieren.

Die Entwicklung wird unterstützt durch physikalische und chemische Analysemethoden, z.B. zur Beschreibung von Materialeigenschaften oder zur Validierung numerischer Simulationen.

 

zum Bereich Packaging

Downloads

Ansprechpartner Pharma


Patrik Bachmann

Patrik Bachmann ist studierter Chemiker (FH). Seine Lehre als Chemielaborant absolvierte er bei Alusuisse in Neuhausen am Rheinfall. Im Anschluss studierte er Chemie mit der Vertiefungsrichtung Analytische Chemie an der Zürcher Hochschule in Winterthur. Von 2001 bis 2006 war er Projektleiter mehrerer Entwicklungsprojekte im Bereich der Entwicklung von funktionellen Aluminiumoberflächen bei Alcan und Novelis. Ab 2007 arbeitete er in der chemischen Analytik mit dem Schwerpunkt anorganische Elementanalytik von Pharmaproben und beschäftigte sich mit Analysen von verschiedensten Werkstoffen. Seit 2011 ist Patrik Bachmann der Teamleiter und Fachverantwortliche der Chemischen Analytik von Suisse TP.

 

pharma@suisse-tp.ch +41 52 551 1169